UC to J-Pouch Story

Getting Healthy Story #2 – Chelsea

Posted by mark on June 7, 2008

Here is the recent post from a young woman who literally has been to hell and back with her UC, failed jpouch and now perm ileo.  The brilliant thing about this post is that in the face of all her health issues, she has found renewed health and she is a true inspiration story.   Let us explain, having a permanent ileostomy is worst case scenario for a “failed” j-pouch, and when you read things like this, it helps you to remember that a perm ileo will give you your life back.  

According to CCFA only:

“About eight to ten percent of patients will have pouch failure, which requires removal of the pouch and conversion to a permanent ileostomy.”

8 Responses to “Getting Healthy Story #2 – Chelsea”

  1. Kristin said

    Hello!

    Permanent ileostomate here who stumbled upon your blog through WordPress Tag Surfing.
    I’m a Crohnie that was originally diagnosed with UC, and I had a jpouch for about 4 years before going back to the ostomy.

    Thanks getting the word out…and thanks for recognizing that a failed jpouch is not the end of the world. Although mine was unsuccessful, I’d still encourage anyone with UC to try it once the time is right.

    Best,
    Kristin

  2. mdhilton said

    Hi Kristin,
    Great to hear from you! Yes, we think it is so important to acknowledge that jpouches can fail, but if it does that living with a perm ileo is hardly a bad scenario. I found having my temp ileo was serving the purpose of teaching me that if I ever needed a perm ileo it wouldn’t be bad. I felt great with ileo and I was able to live so normally. We watched your video on your site about CD/UC awareness and walk, what a great cause.
    Mark

  3. KDelphi said

    I would like to know if the pain (rectal, vaginal, etc) and arthritis that I have with my j pouch will go away if I go to a permanent ileostomy…I know no one can say for certain….but, …is that statistic correct, that only 10% fail?

  4. Ara said

    I have read so many content about the blogger lovers however this paragraph is in fact a good post, keep it up.

  5. I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my
    trouble. You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  6. Why users still makme use of to reaad news papers when in this technological globe everygthing is available on web?

  7. Audra said

    Below are some firewood terms to easily understand
    facts about firewood:. Consider the fact that Tri Tip not only takes time to reach this temperature but will continue cooking once the meat is
    removed from the grill. This can be the hardest hurdle ever in getting those tightened thighs and well defined calf muscle.

  8. Berries of the indigo plan or crushed dry jacaranda flowers.

    People color other’s faces by saying ‘Bura Na
    Mano Holi Hai’ in noisy tone and drinking quickly glasses of thandai from time to time.

    Diwali is great business time for the apparel industry.

Leave a Reply

 
