UC to J-Pouch Story

Surgery Photos: Rob’s Story

Posted by mark on August 1, 2008

 Please Welcome our New Guest Blogger Rob B.

Rob Headed into Pre-Surgery Testing

Rob is headed in for surgery on Aug 8, 2008 for removal of jpouch and to gain a permanent ileostomy. His story is different than Mark & Carter’s because he had colon cancer many years ago, and it damaged his rectum area, leaving him with the option of a perm ileo to simply get his life back.  Below is an excerpt from Rob, and we’ll be adding photos and text of his journey as it happens.   Be sure to send him your support, he has a long journey of physical and emotional healing ahead!

 

Rob’s Story Explained:  “My Colon was damaged due to radiation I received 17 years ago but I’ve been on a medication called lomotil.  It controls B/M’s but unfortunately not all the time. I have had my shear of accidents so I can relate to Marks story when he was up on the lift and had an accident.  You see my problem is also with my Sphincter (the anal muscle that holds everything up and in). Because of the cancer they had to removed a large portion so I have no control of any B/M’s. I can’t even feel when I’m having one. I’ve been surviving because of the medication. It hasn’t been pleasant. I need my life back so I have to go for the permanent ostomy.”

Keep visiting we’ll keep updating with text and photos on Rob’s page:  Surgery Photos: Rob B’s Story

One Response to “Surgery Photos: Rob’s Story”

  1. mark said

    Rob,

    Thinking of you with your big surgery coming up! Lets get you healed up fast and back to living a good healthy life. We look forward to hearing from you soon!

    Mark & Megan

Leave a Reply

 
