UC to J-Pouch Story

Hemorrhoids DO NOT rule!

Posted by mark on August 3, 2008

I would like to talk about my battle with hemorrhoids and subsequent skin tags – I don’t much like them, however, they are my reality and so I live with them as best I can.  First, here is some good Mayo Clinic info on them:   Hemorrhoids explained by the Mayo Clinic  I think that it is common for us colon challenged individuals to have these issues.  Here is a good video on Causes and symptoms of hemorrhoids Causes and Symptoms of Hemorrhoids.

Short video showing hemorrhoids photos and drawings (double click on video if it doesn’t embed on our site):

 

I asked my surgeon about having the anal skin tabs/tabs removed, I was told that they would make my life worse if tried to remove them (I’m still somewhat unclear why this was the advice I was given, but it has worked out well for me in the long run). This was good advice because since I’ve had my jpouch they are a lot less irritating than when I had UC.  The skin tags/tabs are just left over skin now from untreated previous hemorrhoids – which I’ve offered to show Megan the beauty of them, but she always declines my offer – Although my hemorrhoid and skin tag issues are not so bad these days I do still deal with the pain of them when I experience more active butt burn.  My main tips for caring for my hemorrhoids and  skin tabs/tags are:

1.  Keep the area clean and try to not upset the skin tags into an inflammation state.

2.  I flip between products but I am a big believer for mild relief in Tucks Pads, these do soothe the area when upset. 

3.  My preferred creams are 3:  Nupercanal, Tucks Cream, Cortaid Cream.  These just help with removing some of the burning and itching.  I seem to flip back and forth between these three. 

Well, I figure if you are reading this blog, you are likely familiar with the ups and downs of hemorrhoids and such – and if you aren’t familiar with hemi’s then why are you reading?!  No, just kidding, you’re welcome to read even if you don’t have strange bubbles of anal nerve endings inflamed making you feel like you have a golf ball on fire in between your butt cheeks.

8 Responses to “Hemorrhoids DO NOT rule!”

  1. Steve said

    Hi Mark – I came across your blog regarding hemorrhoids and skin tags. I was trying to find some info on this and the more I research on the web, the more I get confused and paranoid about what I may have. I never really had a hemorrhoid problem before or rarely even had one ever. About a month or two ago, I noticed some strange texture of skin between my butt around my anus. It felt like little bumps but also like a piece of skin that was coming out. After ignoring it for a while, I decided to get creative and try to look down there using a mirror. Now, I’ve definitely noticed some hemorrhoids but also these disturbing looking pieces of skin that seem to be around the hemorrhoids. They almost look like flaps with some whiteish or grayish bumps on them. I think there is 2-3 of these “flaps of skin.” If I do any research on the web, I can’t find pics that look like it exactly. The closest I come across is genital warts pics but I’m hoping that’s not it. If I didn’t have hemorrhoids there, I would be even more nervous and think it was genital warts but I find it strange to now have these bumpy flaps appear around the same time as hemorrhoids are present. This is now going on for a couple of months. Nothing really hurts or itches…it’s more cosmetic and annoying for now. Does any of this sound familiar to what you had? Do you have any insight as to what this may be?

  2. mark said

    Hey Steve,

    Okay, well not being a doctor I can’t say for sure at all what you’ve got, but yes, is does sound familiar to my flaps. I don’t think mine really have bumps on them though, they more look like soft flaps of skin that are smooth. And I’m not familiar with what warts or fungus might look like. THat is good that it doesn’t really burn or itch because mine do tend to bother me physically a lot of the time. I think that it might be good for you to go see a doctor about it just in case there is another something going on. Or you may want to post on http://www.jpouch.org under the help now section, someone may have some better advice if they’ve had similiar symptoms to you.

  3. It’s cool that you’ve solve your problem Mark. But bear in mind that hemorrhoid is a recurring problem caused by our daily lifestyle, I’ve listed the 8 factors that can increase our chance of having hemorrhoids. Hope this can be viewed as another helpful resource for reading.

  4. Hi Mark,

    Yes, whatever Nowheet OWL told is right. Hemorrhoids can often be effectively dealt with good diet and lifestyle changes. The best way to prevent hemorrhoids is doing exercise regularly, drinking plenty of water and increased fiber in the diet.

    Thanks,
    Sarah

  5. Jimmy said

    Hey Mark,

    Thanks for a great post. The most important question though is what is the most optimal treatment for each person. My experience with all the pills and creams is that they never really seem to treat the root cause of the problem.

    On my blog Ive made a little post which lists the main causes of hemorrhoids and what sufferers can do to alleviate the pain – check it out here

    Good work!

    Jimmy

  6. ann said

    Thanks for the post, I have been having the same problems.

  7. Thanks for your sense of humor regarding this delicate situation Mark. I think that laughter may even promote healing.

  8. Hello there! This post couldn’t be written much better! Reading through this post reminds me
    of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about this.
    I am going to forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a
    very good read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

 
