UC to J-Pouch Story

Intimacy with Fear

Posted by Megan on August 17, 2008

Working on the couch, my temporary office

Working on the couch, my temporary office

As you may have picked up, I’m working on a tight deadline to get my dissertation finsihed in the next 3 months.  This is no easy task,  and it seems I am working 24-7 to get this thing done. And today I had a big bout of fear, I started writing stories in my mind about how I was bound to be making a mistake, or that my committee would think it was wrong – just awful feelings of self-doubt.  This usually means I am tired, when I get exhausted I become fearful that something is wrong.  In trying to break these patterns, I read things to help me be present and not freak out unnecessarily.  And today this is what I read that helped me calm down, I figure it may help you since if you are reading this site you are likely facing some scary times:

“It’s not a terrible thing that we feel fear when faced with the unknown.  It is part of being alive, something we all share…Fear is a natural reaction to moving closer to the truth….No one ever tells us to stop running away from fear. We are rarely told to move closer, to just be there, to become familiar with fear….So next time you encounter fear, consider youself lucky. This is where the courage comes in.  Usually we think that brave people have no fear. The truth is that they are intimate with fear.  The trick is to keep exploring and not bail out, even when we find out that something is not what we though.  That’s what we’re going to discover again and agian and again.  Nothing is what we thought.”  – Pema Chodron  When Things Fall Apart (pp. 1-5)

One Response to “Intimacy with Fear”

  1. phiphi04 said

    i have to say that ive suffered for many years with this and find the information here fantastic, great to know im not alone out there, thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
