UC to J-Pouch Story

Steph’s Aug 22 Surgery

Posted by mark on August 22, 2008

And another one is going in on August 22 for the colon removal surgery.  We are definately thinking of you and hoping that you have a speedy recovery!  Keep us posted and remember this is going to give you great health and many good years ahead!

 

Check out Steph’s page and link to her blog here! 

Excerpt from her page:  “3 DAYS BEFORE STEP 1

I’m as ready as I’ll ever be. My dad made his infamous chicken parmesan as my “last supper” before I begin the clear liquid diet tomorrow. Why not go all out, right? I’m not gonna be eating much in the next week! Thursday morning, mother has made an appointment for me to have a nice massage and haircut. “To soothe the nerves,” she says. My confidence has boosted thanks to the companionship and kind wishes of my fellow j-pouchers. Their strength and positive attitudes have given me the will to press on with eagerness. Mom and Dad are going to be there with me on Friday. Mom plans to stay with me. I don’t know what I would do without her. She has been beside me through every step of this: from diagnosis to making this decision. She is without question, the most selfless, courageous person I know on this planet. My heart transcends gratitude to know she will be with me when we eliminate the menace.

So tomorrow, just water, tea, juices, popsicles, and jello (nothing red of course!). I swear I hate to admit it, but I have grown so accustomed to this process that it hardly bothers me anymore. After 3 p.m. on Thursday, I start the ritual of elimination. Tons of liquids before and after taking the Fleet bowel cleansing beverage to stay hydrated. Even though I’ll have been on a liqiud diet for almost two days, I realize the importance of getting rid of the last of the stool and other bacteria. It’ll decrease the risk of infection during/after the operation. I have to suffer one more bad night in the bathroom on Thursday (thanks to the Fleet phospho soda) but that’s it…hopefully. ONE more bad night. I am ready to sleep through the night again. Really.

I meet my new friend, the anethesiologist at 6 a.m. Friday. 7:30 a.m. Kiss that nasty colon bye-bye!”

One Response to “Steph’s Aug 22 Surgery”

  1. Jewels said

    I hope everything went well with your surgery!

Leave a Reply

 
