UC to J-Pouch Story

Let’s Talk Pouchitis

Posted by mark on August 25, 2008

“Approximately 30 to 50% of individuals with thJust in case you were confused in Cambodia they help remind you how to use the potty pote pelvic pouch will develop pouchitis at some point in their life.” –  Mount Sinai Pouchitis Information

After 9 beautiful, flawless months with my jpouch, I had my first case of pouchitis.  It was pretty simple to diagnosis by myself, almost immediately went from normal BMs to heavy liquid BMs. Starting feeling lightheaded, exhausted, I didn’t ache or anything, but felt awful.  Few days went by didn’t get better like the flu, and finally got a prescription for Cipro and after 2 pills already felt better and 48 hours felt NORMAL again.

What is the lesson I’ve learned from my first battle with pouchitis? 
1.  That fear of pouchitis is not enough reason to not have the surgery.
2.  If these symptoms happen again call my GI asap.
3.  Need to consider dealing with probiotics. I don’t take them right now but wil start thinking about it now as I know some people think they help prevent pouchitis.

Photo via:  Mimi K 
*Photo is toilet sign in Cambodia
2 Responses to “Let’s Talk Pouchitis”

  1. carter99 said

    Mark,

    Sounds like you did pretty well with your bout of pouchitis. Glad to hear you came through it so easily. I hate that you ended up with pouchitis, but hearing how well you did is kind of an uplift to me, and I’m sure others as well.

    Hope you and Megan are doing well.

  2. Donald J Stoeffler said

    I had my second and final stage of the “reconstructive surgery “about 4 or 5 years ago. I have been doing great until last weekend. I was told by my doctor (then) to use a pro biotic either in the form of a bill or in yogurt. I choose yogurt and have had a serving of it every other day since then and it has kept me in balance like I said for 4 or 5 years. I have had partial blockages and some days of just not feeling well, i.e. ran down, cramping, unbelievable gas but, for the most part running smoothly. I was told back then that getting Pouchitis was going to happen period and the longer I have my pouch the odds went up so I guess the odds are finally catching up with me. I was told by my doctor that a simple use of antibiotics was all that was needed to get the ball rolling again, we’ll see. I have an appointment with him this Tuesday at 11:30 AM.

Leave a Reply

 
